National Finalist Judges

Susan Leonard

Renowned Producer and Director, known for The Casketeers (Best Original Reality Series at NZTV Awards), My Māori Midwife and Dishing Up Australia with Al Brown.

Annabel Keane

One half of Sports Team, who have created the web series Trash Recital, feature documentary ‘The Beths: Auckland, New Zealand, 2020’, as well as music videos for The Beths, Hans Pucket, Marlon Williams and Princess Chelsea.

Zia Mandviwalla

Acclaimed Writer and Director, notably for the Netflix Original series Chef’s Table and Netflix Original show Home Game. Her own short film Night Shift premiered at the Festival de Cannes in 2012 before showing at Sundance, New York, Melbourne, Sydney and Valladolid Film Festivals; and winning Best Short Film at the Hong Kong International Film Festival.

Raymond Edwards

Cinematographer, Writer and Director. His short film True Love was featured in the Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts selection of the NZ International Film Festival in 2021, and he is currently working on his next short film Ace.

Panel Judges

Ange Bloomfield (Actor and Director)
Susan Leonard (Producer and Director)
Thomas Coppell  (Producer, head of Tomorrow, Rain, SPADA Executive)
Connor Pritchard (Music Video Director)
Frances Carter (Photographer and Director)
Jarred Blakiston (Actor)
Ben Powdrell (Editor, Writer and Producer, board member of DEGANZ)
Ella Gilbert (Actor, Writer and Filmmaker)
Johnny Gilbert (Music Video Producer, Flying Fish Studios)
Amber "Stevie" Stevens (Production Manager, Producer, Educator)
David Argue (Director and Cinematographer)
Anouk Stucky (Producer and Documentary Researcher)




National 1st Place
- Sandcastle / Macleans College / Ivy Feng
Runner Up Short Film
- Space Cowboy / Christchurch Girls’ High School / Emily McVicar, Rata Shaw & Trinity Mann
Runner Up Short Film - Don’t Worry About It / Auckland Grammar School / Robson Reidy 
OnScreen’s Choice Award - Cheese Man / Hillcrest High School / Ephraim Frame & Lachlan Braithwaite
ZM Best Music Video - stardust. / St Cuthbert's College / Melinda Xu
Runner Up Music Video - I'm on Fire / Nayland College / Eloise Vinicombe
Best Documentary - Iris by Iris / Avondale College / Leo Taylor & Jakob Elijas
Runner Up Documentary - Pensioners Paradise / Lynfield College / Lucy Howe
Best Junior Film - Thorns / Northcross Intermediate / Maddi, Eden, Simei,Yuuna, Zoe, Rosie & Emily
School Spirit Award - Taradale High School / Hawke's Bay

Best Director - Ethan Wong (How to Automatically Pass Exams / Middleton Grange School)
Best Editor - Smile Media (Soup / Riccarton High School)
SPADA Best Producer - Anna Koldau (Haloed Misfits / Nayland College)
Best Screenwriter - Hamish Barclay & Mila Hale (Right Person, Wrong Time / Riccarton High School)
Best Performer - Jacob Verd (How to Automatically Pass Exams /Middleton Grange School)
Best Animator - Nehlia Chua (FLiCKER / Liger Leadership Academy)

Best Cinematography - Soup (Riccarton High School) and Iris by Iris (Avondale College)
Best Lighting - Beyond (Cashmere High School) 
Best Original Score - Sandcastle (Macleans College)
Best Sound Mix - ROADKILL (Waiheke High School)
Best Visual Effects - Beyond Farewell (Macleans College)
Best Set Design - Cheese Man (Hillcrest High School)
Best Styling - Space Cowboy (Christchurch Girls' High School) 

Highly Commended Director- Ephraim Frame & Lachlan Braithwaite (Cheese Man / Hillcrest High School)
Highly Commended Editor - Alexi Franklin (ROADKILL / Waiheke High School), Noah Raikes (Slice of Heaven / KingsWay School),
Roarna Knowler (Love Our Little Blues / Nelson College for Girls) & Sophie Siebert (THEY MISS YOUR SMILE / Palmerston North Girl's High School)
Highly Commended Producer- Stephen Sun (LOCKED / Kristin School), Imogen Moore & Eva Bogun (Nightmare Killer / Hamilton Girls' High School)
Highly Commended Screenwriter - Rata Shaw (Space Cowboy / Christchurch Girls’ High School),  Charlotte Reid (DARK WATER / Napier Girls' High School)
Highly Commended Performer - Edie Croad (DARK WATER / Napier Girls' High School), Bailey Lindsey (Cheese Man / Hillcrest High School)
& Amira Stephenson (The Handkerchief Code / Hillcrest High School)
Highly Commended Animator - Zoë Barrett (Bloom / Macleans College)


Highly Commended Cinematography -
Beyond, The Fallen King (Otago Girls), Slice of Heaven (KingsWay School) and Pulling Up Stumps (Wakatipu High School)
Highly Commended Lighting
- Cheese Man (Hillcrest High School) & Desolate Remnants (Wakatipu High School)
Highly Commended Original Score - DARK WATER (Napier Girls' High School)
Highly Commended Sound Mix - Date Night (Taradale High School) & Sandcastle (Macleans College)
Highly Commended Visual Effects - Self-Reflection (Taradale High School) , Trash (Scots College) & Space Cowboy (Christchurch Girls’ High School)
Highly Commended Set Design - The Fallen King (Otago Girls' High School) 
Highly Commended Styling - Bloom (Macleans College) & The Handkerchief Code (Hillcrest High School)

Cheese Man (Hillcrest High School)
DARK WATER (Napier Girls' High School)
Don't Worry About It (Auckland Grammar School)
FLiCKER (Liger Leadership Academy)
How To Automatically Pass Exams (Middleton Grange School)
Right Person, Wrong Time (Riccarton High School)
Sandcastle (Macleans College)
Slice of Heaven (KingsWay School)
Soup (Riccarton High School)
Space Cowboy (Christchurch Girls High School)


1st Place - Oliver / Pepi-Olliver Bell, Onslow College (Wellington)
2nd Place
- Oakdale Grove / Isaac Adams, Nayland College (Nelson)
3rd Place
- Turmoil / Aden Gray, Feilding High School (Manawatū)


1st Place - Heroine / Lily Knox, St Hilda’s Collegiate School
2nd Place - Dearest Mother / Zac Bell, King’s High School Otago
3rd Place - Deluge / Kate Kominik-Fraser, Wellington Girls’ College